NEATV Race Report

- Advertisement -

Press Release –

Round 4 of the New England ATV Motocross series was held, for a third time this season, at the Jolly Roger MX Park in Lempster, New Hampshire where Joe Haavisto took the overall win in both the Pro and Pro-am classes to increase his series points lead accordingly.

Around 1:30 pm on Sunday, rains poured down heavily on the sandy track of Jolly Roger and caused the second round of motos for the day to be halted until the rains and lightning left the area.

Racing started back up around 2:15 pm with the women’s class on track. Racers were greeted with a very sloppy and saturated racecourse, which left many of them unrecognizable after only a few laps.

Sydney MacQuarrie put her pink #33 Suzuki Quad Racer Z400 towards the front and nearly checked out from the rest of the pack, until a slip up later in the race put her back a few places allowing Lauren Whipple, Amy Thompson, Paige Whipple, Angie Maher, and Caitlyn Hebert to go around her.

MacQuarrie had to settle for 11th overall while Lauren Whipple took the overall win, followed by Paige Whipple in 2nd and Amy Thompson secured the last spot on the podium.

In the amateur 4-Stroke C class it was #27 Mike Skalaski on his white LTR-450 putting the hurt on the rest of the pack bringing home a 1-1 finish with huge lead over the competition.

Even with bike problems and tire issues, caused by the rocky course, Skalaski was able to increase his points lead in the championship to a staggering 45+ points. Following Skalaski on the podium was Justin Digianni in 2nd and Chris Donahue in 3rd.

In the Pro ranks it was Joe Haavisto bringing home the overalls in both the Open Pro race as well as the Pro-Am class.

Joe fought his way through both motos of the day battling against other top riders such as Tommy Mofford, Vinny Mofford, Danny Lewis, and Myles Santaniello.

In Pro moto number one it was Thomas Mofford on his #21 BCS Kawasaki that took the holeshot, followed by #621 Danny Lewis, #26 Vinny Mofford, and #75 Joe Haavisto. The case for moto two however, was a little different.

Just as in moto one, #21 Thomas Mofford was up in the front of the pack leading from the starting gate area, but as the racers rounded the first turn, being propelled by his Baldwin powered Kawasaki 450 and mud thrashing Maxxis Razr 2 tires, Joe Haavisto rocketed passed Mofford.

The track had dried slightly before the start of Pro moto number two, but was still in disarray as they railed around each corner.

These conditions were no match for the racers though, as they continued to fly around the course as if there were no such thing as rain.

Many racers took their goggles off, as it was too hard to see due to the mud caking their lenses as they navigated the track.

Haavisto took the moto two win and the overall, Danny Lewis claimed a 1-3 finish which earned him 2nd overall, Thomas Mofford’s 5-2 got him the last spot on the podium. Justin “Muff” Hoffler grabbed the number four position while Myles Santaniello rounded out the top five.

In Pro-am, it was Haavisto’s 1-1 that got him the top spot on the podium with Danny Lewis taking 2nd, and Justin Hoffler in third. Michael Pilotte finished in 4th and Myles Santaniello hung on to 5th place.

In the 40+ class, Andre Marois claimed a 1-1 finish to claim 1st overall with series points leader Terry Frischkorn taking 2nd and Steve Mofford grabbed 3rd place. In 4-Stroke Expert A, Jesse Onesti took home the overall win, with Jon Normandin in 2nd and Brian Lightbody took 3rd.

In the 50cc Limited class, it was series points leader Deven Fontaine, with a 1-1 finish, who took the overall. Luke Brown took a solid 2nd with his 2-2 finish and Jacob Jean finished a consistent 3-3, to take the last place on the podium. In the Youth 200/300 class, points leader Dylan Murcott took the overall win with Abram Hakala in 2nd and Justin Cyr took 3rd overall.

The next race in the New England ATV MX series will be held at the MX-207 racecourse in beautiful Lyman, ME on June 29th. Gates open on Friday at 4pm, Saturday at 7am, and on Sunday 6am. Entry fee will be $15 and there is a Saturday open practice fee of $35.

Dirt Trax Online
Dirt Trax Online
Check back frequently for new content and follow us on social media!

Trending Now



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Recent Comments

Mike Lester on The BEST ATV For You!