Polaris Announces 2008 Factory Racing Sponsorships

- Advertisement -

Press Release –

Polaris Industries is going full throttle into the ATV racing season with the company’s biggest effort, to date, in factory racing sponsorships.

For 2008, Polaris will have racers competing in the Grand National Cross Country series (GNCC), World Off Road Championship series (WORCS), World PowerSports Association (WPSA) and ITP QuadCross.

“Polaris has tripled our race team for 2008. We enjoyed many successes in 2007and with the additional efforts Polaris will be even more competitive for 2008,” said Justin Burke, race team coordinator for the ATV Division at Polaris. “The addition of two new race quads, the Outlaw 525 S and Outlaw 450 MXR, and the existing Outlaw 525 IRS, gives our racers the advantage in the varying terrain of each series.”

WORCS and ITP QuadCross Racing Sponsorships

ATV racing legend, Doug Eichner, is back aboard the Outlaw for the 2008 season as well as the RANGER RZR.

Eichner switched to the Outlaw four races into the 2007 WORCS season and finished on the podium six out of the seven races, only six points behind the first place finisher.

He delivered eight Pro victories overall to Polaris in 2007 and, in 2008, Eichner will race the Outlaw 525 IRS, Outlaw 525 S, Outlaw 450 MXR and the RANGER RZR in the WORCS and ITP QuadCross Series.

Polaris and Eichner also have teamed with Lonestar Racing to support the west coast team in their pursuit of WORCS and ITP Quadcross Championships.

In addition to Team Captain, Doug Eichner, John Shafe, Angela Butler and Youth Rider Caide Hunt join the Polaris roster.

Professional Team Rider, John Shafe, will be doing double-duty racing the Pro class in both WORCS and the ITP QuadCross Series. Shafe was fourth overall in the 2007 WORCS series and finished with a strong third place overall in the ITP QuadCross Series. Shafe will race the Outlaw 450 MXR in both series.

With a total of nine championships to her credit, Angela Butler will direct her championship riding skills aboard the Outlaw 450 MXR for 2008 in both WORCS and the ITP QuadCross Series. In 2007, Butler won both the Women’s ATVA Championship and WPSA Championship.

Youth Team Rider, Caide Hunt will race a pink Outlaw 90 in the “70-90cc Modified” class in the WORCS Series. Hunt is a four-time National Champion winning the 2004 ITP QuadCross Championship, 2005 WORCS “50cc Stock” and “Modified” Championship and 2006 WORCS “50cc Stock” Championship.

The first race of the 2008 WORCS Series is January 25-27, in Phoenix, AZ, and Round One of the ITP QuadCross race will be held March 8 – 9, at Glen Helen Raceway, in San Bernardino, Calif.

GNCC Racing Sponsorships

Up-and-coming “XC2 Pro Am” Rider, Kevin Yoho joins the Polaris race team for 2008. Yoho rounded out the 2007 season seventh overall with four podiums. He will switch between the Outlaw 525 S and 450 MXR depending on race terrain.

Top-Ten, Pro Racer Bryan Baker returns for the 2008 season. Baker will race the Outlaw 525 S and is looking get back into the Top 10 this season.

Polaris also re-signed “Super Senior (50+)” Racer John Gallagher and again will sponsor the Wilson Racing Team. Gallagher finished top of his class again in 2007 with six firsts, four seconds and one third.

Wilson Racing consists of “XC2 Pro Am” Racer Mike Sroka and “Junior A” Todd Rothermel. Sroka finished first in the “Junior A” class with six podium finishes in 2007aboard the Outlaw 525 IRS.

Rothermel rode the Polaris Outlaw 500 to the “4-Stroke Stock A” championship in the 2006 GNCC meet and returns to the team in 2008. Gallagher, Sroka and Rothermel will race both the Outlaw 525 S and IRS.

The first race of the 2008 GNCC series is The Triton, March 1-4, in Melbourne, Fla.

WPSA Powersports Tour Racing Sponsorships

With the introduction of the Outlaw 450 MXR half-way through last WPSA race season, Polaris goes all out for 2008’s season. H-Bomb is back on their Polaris 450s racing the Pro Class with Dana Creech and Jason Luburgh.

An ATV icon, Creech became part of an elite group of riders when he appeared in Huevos 3 in 1999. He has competed in WPSA, the Score International Series and the GNC ATV series.

H-Bomb Racer, Jason Luburgh made his Pro debut in ATVA in 2001 and has several Top 10 finishes in WPSA.

Polaris also signed Rath Racing to race in various series. Daryl Rath will race a Sportsman in WPSA’s QTC, an Outlaw 525 S in the Super Moto Series and GNCC, and a RANGER RZR in select Side by Side events.

Rath is a 26-year racing veteran with four National Championships, two International Championships, 38 State/District Championships and the first-ever Quad Terrain Challenge Championship.

Landon Hurst, Brock Lyons, Cody Anderson and Jay Corey will hop on the Outlaw 450 for Rath Racing.

Hurst and Lyons will race WPSA’s Pro Class, and Hurst also will race the Outlaw 525 S in the Super Moto Series.

Anderson will race the Pro AM Class at WPSA and on his off weekends, hit the Super Moto and Extreme Dirt Track series. Corey will race WPSA’s “B Class” on the Outlaw 450.

Corey is the youngest rider on the roster and brings both MX experience and Cross Country racing to the team.

The first race of the 2008 WPSA series May 17-18, in Taylorville, Ill.

Dirt Trax Online
Dirt Trax Onlinehttps://www.atvmag.com
Check back frequently for new content and follow us on social media!

Trending Now



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Recent Comments

Mike Lester on The BEST ATV For You!